Official Site of

WJ Mouat Hawks Football

Sask’ Huskies announces 20 recruits for 2012

by Saskatchewan Huskies on Published on 2012-05-03 12:31 PM

University of Saskatchewan Huskie football head coach Brian Towriss announced 20 new faces to the squad for the 2012 season Thursday at the 12th Annual Dogs Breakfast.

This year’s recruiting class features some of the best high school and junior football players in the province and Western Canada. These players are just some of the new athletes who will be in Huskies’ uniforms for the 2012 season.

“Spring camp gives us an opportunity to see what these new players can do in the green and white,” said Towriss. “Some of these players will get their opportunity sooner than others, but all will have an impact on the team in some way.”

Joining the Huskies after winning back-to-back Canadian Junior Football Championships with the Saskatoon Hilltops is defensive back Braxton Lawrence. The 6-0 Saskatoon native, recorded 28 tackles, four fumble recoveries, and two interceptions in the 2011 campaign. Lawrence was recognized for his performance on the field in 2011 as a CJFL All-Canadian, a Prairie Football Conference All-Star team, and was twice named PFC player of the week.

The Huskies will also add two more Saskatoon products from the CJFL in Lane Bryska and Drew Digout. Bryska a 6-2, 260 pound offensive lineman also won the CJFL Championship with the Hilltops last year and was named a PFC All-Star. Digout a 6-3, 290 pound offensive lineman comes to the Huskies after playing for the Okanagan Sun. In 2010, Digout was named a CJFL All Canadian, and a BCFC All-Star. Before joining the Sun in 2010, Digout was a three-time city champion and a two-time provincial champion with Aden Bowman Collegiate in Saskatoon.

“It’s always nice to sign a few top recruits from junior football,” said Towriss. “The junior league gives players a few more years to mature and allows them to step right in and make a difference,”

This year’s high school class features a number of standouts from across Western Canada.

Two high caliber offensive talents from the BC AAA Varsity League will make their way to the prairies. Devin Logan, a 5-11 running back, and Deion Bain, a 5-9 slot back ,led WJ Mouat in Abbotsford to a second place finish at the AAA Varsity level in 2011. Logan averaged 93.5 rushing yards per game, while Bain averaged 79 yards per game.

Matt Bonaca from Salisbury High School in Edmonton is the only quarterback in this year’s class. Bonaca led his team to the provincial semifinal last year throwing for 1,165 yards and completing 10 touchdowns. Joining Bonaca from Salisbury is running back Brandon Stewart, who recorded 876 total yards and 9 touchdowns in 2011.

Senior Bowl athletes, Jarvis James and Drew Bexon will join the Huskies. Jarvis, a three time All-Star with Bishop O’Byrne High School in Calgary captained his team to their first ever Division 1 City Championship. Bexon played for Holy Rosary High School in Lloydminster accumulating an impressive 1,226 yards, averaging 8 yards per carry with 10 touchdowns in 2011.

Evan Rutherford (offensive line, Harry Ainley High School), Caleb Eidsvik (defensive line, Lloydminster Comprehensive), Brayden Twarynski (defensive line, Bishop O’Byrne High School) will also join the Huskies from Alberta.

Saskatchewan will feature seven high school products in this year’s recruiting class. Among them is a trio who played for Team Saskatchewan in the 2011 Canada Cup – Brydon Ozmun (receiver, Nipawin High School), Evan Johnson (offensive line, Campbell Collegiate, Regina), and Mike Desjarlais (line backer, Miller Comprehensive, Regina).

Also from Saskatchewan is Brendan Ernst (defensive back, Evan Hardy Collegiate), Keegan Arnyek (defensive back, Vanier Collegiate, Moose Jaw), Kurtis Wegren (offensive line, Swift Current Comprehensive), and Chris Charuk (line backer, Balfour Collegiate, Regina).

“We are very excited about our strong recruiting class,” said Towriss. “We can’t wait to get going and see what they can do for us.”

All recruits, as well as returning players, suit up in Spring Camp beginning Thursday at 6 p.m. at Griffiths Stadium in PotashCorp Park.

Recruits announced:
1. Brayden Twarynski – DL, Bishop O’Byrne High School, Calgary
2. Brendan Ernst – DB, Evan Hardy Collegiate, Saskatoon
3. Keegan Arnyek – DB, Vanier Collegiate, Moose Jaw
4. Matt Bonaca – QB, Salisbury High School, Edmonton
5. Brandon Stewart – RB, Salisbury High School, Edmonton
6. Devin Logan – RB, WJ Mouat High School, Abbotsford
7. Brydon Ozmun – REC, Nipawin High School
8. Deion Bain – SB, WJ Mouat High School, Abbotsford
9. Jarvis James – RB, Bishop O’Byrne High School, Calgary
10. Braxton Lawrence – DB, Saskatoon Hilltops
11. Lane Bryksa – OL, Saskatoon Hilltops
12. Caleb Eidsvik – DL, Lloydminster Comprehensive
13. Drew Digout – OL, Okanogan Sun, Aden Bowman Collegiate
14. Kurtis Wegren – OL, Swift Current Comprehensive
15. Evan Johnson – OL, Campbell Collegiate, Regina
16. Evan Rutherford – OL, Harry Ainley High School, Edmonton
17. Kris Charuk – LB, Balfour Collegiate, Regina
18. Drew Bexson– RB, Holy Rosary High School, Lloydminster
19. Mike Desjarlais – LB, Miller Comprehensive, Regina
20. Ryan Breadner – OL, Cherokee Texas

Back to Top